Go Back to Search OM


Subject:- Revision of Pension of pre-2016 AIS Pensioner/ Family Pensioners after 7th CPC

The undersigned is directed to refer to this Department's letter of even number dated 19th May 2017 vide which the instructions dated 12th May 2017 relating to revision of pension of pre-2016 pensioners issued by Department of Pension and Pensioner's Welfare in the context of implementation of VII CPC recommendations, were extended to All India Service (AIS) Pensioners. The said letter dated 19th May 2017 was also sent to all Ministries I Departments of Government of India (copy enclosed).

2.  Many retired AIS Officers who are drawing pension from the Central Government, have since voiced grievances at various levels, stating that pension revision in pursuance of the order dated 19th May 2017 has not taken place so far.

3.  It is observed in this regard that CPAO, with the approval of the Controller General of Accounts, have issued instructions on 25th May 2017 to Pro Chief Controller of Accounts I Chief Controller of Accounts etc. about the modalities to be followed for expeditious implementation of the instructions dated 12th  May 2017 of the D/o Pension & Pension Welfare. Joint Secretary (Admn) I Admin in charge of Ministries I Departments have also been requested by CPAO to instruct their Head of Offices (HOOs) to start immediately sending the revised pension cases to the PAOs on the basis of records available with them and monitor the progress in this regard. Further follow up instructions have also been issued by CPAO on 7th July 2017.

4. In view of the hardships being encountered by retired AIS Officers vis-a-vis revision of their pensions, all Ministries / Departments are requested to take necessary action for effective and expeditious implementation of the instructions dated 19th May 2017 pertaining to revision of pension of AIS Officers read with Dlo Pension and Pension Welfare instructions dated 12th May 2017. 

OM No: No. 14021/4/2016-AIS-II Dated: 11/9/2017

(Sign of Authority)

Rajesh Kumar Yadav

Under Secretary